RSS

Funding the DNC, at the Point of a Gun.

23 Feb

Public unions force taxpayers to fund Democrats | Michael Barone | Politics | Washington Examiner.

Michael Barone has an excellent column today on the public sector union vs. taxpayer fight. His point is very clear and hard to argue against. Public sector unions get their dues from taxpayer funded worker pay. Public sector unions then use these dues to fund Democrat politicians almost exclusively. The dollars involved are staggering. From the article:

“Enormous contributions, yes — to the Democratic Party and the Obama campaign. Unions, most of whose members are public employees, gave Democrats some $400 million in the 2008 election cycle. The American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, the biggest public employee union, gave Democrats $90 million in the 2010 cycle.”

I can’t begin to express how repulsive this is to me. I’m being forced to indirectly fund at the State and Federal level a political philosophy and machine that I vehemently oppose. Could one of my Democrat/Obama supporting friends please tell me how this is evenly remotely fair or just? Seriously, please make your case. I would really like to understand the thought process and justifications that lead you to come to such a conclusion.

For those of you who might be having trouble with the title to this post, please consider the following:

If I refuse to pay my taxes, I will be charged with tax evasion. If I refuse to comply with any penalties handed down by the courts, I will be thrown in jail. If I were to resist, the police will use force against me, even deadly force. Therefore, the government uses the threat of force to compel me to pay my taxes. I can grudgingly accept this arrangement when my taxes are being used for services, agreed upon by the populace. I become more than a little ticked off when these taxes ultimately wind up in public sector union coffers and then given to Democrat politicos.

Public Sector unions have got to go!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 23, 2011 in Culture, Politics

 

Leave a comment