RSS

The Case For Newt

16 Nov

William Jacobson at Legal Insurrection has an excellent post on why he is supporting Newt Gingrich. I must confess to not being ready to chose at this point. Professor Jacobson makes a strong case for Newt, one that just might push me over the edge into Mr. Gingrich’s camp. In the final analysis, I will be voting for ABO (anyone but Obama) but would like to make sure that we have the very best candidate that the primary process can produce. One who is intelligent, has a good grasp of our history (and why it is important) who can think quickly on their feet, has strong conservative principles and can communicate clearly.

Most of the candidates in the current field posses some but not all of the characteristics that I ticked off above but none of them matches up perfectly. If I’m honest, I have to admit that perhaps Newt comes the closest out of all those in the group. Romney comes close as well but he seems too slick and really doesn’t pass my gut check. He’s flipped and flopped so much, I really have a hard time trusting him to stand by conservative principles when push comes to shove. Newt has his own warts to be sure but his performance of late has me thinking again.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 16, 2011 in Politics

 

Leave a comment